Victorian Curriculum


The Victorian Curriculum F–10 sets out a single, coherent and comprehensive set of content descriptions and associated achievement standards to enable teachers to plan, monitor, assess and report on the learning achievement of every student.


The Victorian Curriculum F–10 incorporates and reflects much of the Australian Curriculum F–10, but differs in some important respects, most notably the representation of the curriculum as a continuum of learning and the structural design.


Victorian Government and Catholic schools are required to use the Victorian Curriculum F–10. At St Patrick’s the Victorian Curriculum is delivered and reported to over a two year cycle.


Curriculum Design

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes eight learning areas and four capabilities. The learning areas of the Arts, Humanities and Technologies include distinct disciplines. The capabilities represent sets of knowledge and skills that are developed and applied across the curriculum.


Learning Areas and Capabilities


The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes both knowledge and skills. These are defined by learning areas and capabilities. This curriculum design assumes that knowledge and skills are transferrable across the curriculum and therefore are not duplicated. For example, where skills and knowledge such as asking questions, evaluating evidence and drawing conclusions are defined in Critical and Creative Thinking, these are not duplicated in other learning areas such as History or Health and Physical Education. It is expected that the skills and knowledge defined in the capabilities will be developed, practised, deployed and demonstrated by students in and through their learning across the curriculum.


The design of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 is set out below:


Learning Areas


The Arts

- Dance

- Drama

- Media Arts

- Music

- Visual Arts

- Visual Communication Design

Critical and Creative Thinking



Personal and Social


Health and Physical Education

The Humanities

- Civics and Citizenship

- Economics and Business

- Geography

- History





- Design and Technologies

- Digital Technologies